Second-Hand Music

19 Jun

Image

I went to Penny Lane today for Emergency Album Purchasing in case of snow. I visited this place for the first time a couple of weeks back, even though it’s been in Christchurch for 15 years.

My partner dug out his old record player from his DJ days last month, and while I’m all good with the latest technology, putting vinyl on a record player trumps all else. Fortunately, some record-shopping was required to stock our shelves.

Penny Lane looks quite a bit like Championship Vinyl from High Fidelity (except without the dishy Cusack). So much music, honestly displayed. Unlike Championship Vinyl however, you could probably ask for a Kylie Minogue album without the staff flinching. The money I’ve spent has gone back into the local business community, and my records are tenderly placed in brown paper bags. It’s cheap – I don’t spend any more than $10 per record.  Second-hand goods going to appreciative homes.

btw – I didn’t buy any Kylie Minogue.

Leave a Reply

