DIY Lemon Dusters

25 May

Today I made my own lemon dusters. Apparently they make the room smell amazing, which means they may encourage me to actually dust. Also:

  • No stupid packaging.
  • No weird chemicals.
  • Quicker than going to The Supermarket.
  • Inexpensive.

Image

I followed this easy recipe from Wendyl Nissen.

Put half a cup of white vinegar and half a cup of water in a bowl, add 6-8 drops of lemon essential oil.

Soak some dusters (made from old cloths, sheets etc) for a few minutes, then squeeze out. Roll the dusters up with some lemon peel within the folds.

I didn’t have a lovely glass vintage jar (or any glass jar) big enough, so I’ve put mine in an icecream container. Apparently you can use other type of oil if you’re not keen on lemon. You just take them out as you need them, and if they don’t get too grubby, you can reuse them.

Reading the comments on Wendyl’s site, I see a couple of people had experiences with their cloths going a bit mouldy. That’s the kind of thing that happens to me, so fingers crossed it works out.

2 Responses to “DIY Lemon Dusters”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reducing the Cleaning Bottles – Carpet Splotches | sustainability wench - July 4, 2013

    […] lemon duster to gently rub the […]

  2. Doing the Sustainability in the Chaos | sustainability wench - July 26, 2013

    […] took no time at all the clean the bath and microwave, and do a quick dusting session with my sustainable solutions. These were chores I had very little time to […]

Leave a Reply

