Pastry Done Gran-Style

21 May

My Gran never bought pastry. She always made it from scratch. For some reason, I’d thought it was complicated to make. But it’s much quicker and easier than going to the shop to get it. You don’t even have to get out of your pajama pants, if that’s how you roll. Also no stupid packaging.

I made a tuna flan for dinner tonight, and it starts with the savoury short pastry:

  • put 1.5 cups of flour and 100 grams of cold, cubed butter in a bowl.
  • rub the flour and butter together until it looks like coarse breadcrumbs. I usually spend about 5 seconds debating whether I use my hands (which feels a bit icky), or a food processor (takes time to clean). I hate washing dishes, so I generally end up doing this bit by hand.
  • add 6-8 tablespoons of cold water – just enough so that it all sticks together. Put in fridge for 5 minutes before rolling out.

Image

This makes enough pastry to line a 23cm flan tin.

Tonight I used a good ol’ Kiwi Alison Holst recipe. I threw 3 eggs, 1 cup of cream, 100g tin of tuna, half a cup of grated cheese, salt, pepper, and a bit of onion pulp together in a bowl and mixed it all up, then poured it into the uncooked pastry crust. Bake at 220deg Celsius for 15 minutes, then 180deg Celsius for another 15 minutes. It’s really good with homemade tomato sauce.

Image

2 Responses to “Pastry Done Gran-Style”

  1. Eileen Smith May 21, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    Heather, home made pastry, fruit mince with a touch of brandy, a must have for Christmas (or maybe mid winter Christmas). I usually end up making about 4 dozen (still have the old fashioned patty tins in lots of 6:))

    • sustainabilitywench May 21, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

      yum, I’ve never made them from scratch before but I suspect this year I will be initiated into the club.

Leave a Reply

