Lemony Mothers’ Day

12 May

I had a special breakfast in bed for Mothers’ Day this morning, but this did mean making the topping for my toast late last night in preparation.

A neighbour gave me some beautiful real back-garden lemons, which calls for lemon curd, or lemon honey as my Gran used to call it. I don’t faff around with a double boiler or separating the eggs. As long as you keep an eye on it, there are no issues with this.

  • Put 250g sugar (I put in a cup), 60g butter, zest and juice of 2-3 lemons into a saucepan.  Melt everything together on a low heat until the sugar has melted.
  • Beat 2 eggs and stir them in slowly and gently. Turn up the heat a bit and cook the mixture until it thickens, stirring pretty much constantly. This bit doesn’t take long. Sometimes I get teeny bits of egg white in it (maybe 4-5). Just spoon them out. Remove it from the heat and store it in clean jars. It usually fills 1.5 medium sized jars. It will keep for two to three weeks in the fridge.

Lemon curd on wholegrain toast with a black coffee was a great start to Mothers’ Day. The kids remained quiet and cute too.

Image

4 Responses to “Lemony Mothers’ Day”

  1. Eileen Smith May 21, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

    Awesome recipe, thank you

    • sustainabilitywench May 21, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

      glad you like it – am reading this while I eat my lemon honey on toast!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Snow Prep | sustainability wench - June 18, 2013

    […] my yoghurt (with homemade lemon curd stirred […]

  2. Doing the Sustainability in the Chaos | sustainability wench - July 26, 2013

    […] greek yoghurt with a teaspoon of homemade lemon curd stirred through has become my fast, easy and deliciously tangy […]

Leave a Reply

