Feijoa Jam In-a-Doddle

3 May

I love feijoas. When I was at high school, me and my friends knew of a secret feijoa tree by Back Field. While other brats were sneaking behind the trees for a cigarette, we would skip down to the feijoa tree to snaffle the tasty fruit. Waaaay better than smoking.

Today I made jam out of a couple of bags of feijoas a friend had given me. In typical Sustainable Wench fashion, I’m always asking around for free fruit. Nobody has ever been offended. The key reasons for making the jam were:

  • You can’t buy feijoa jam at The Supermarket.
  • I know exactly what’s in it.
  • It’s easy to make.
  • It costs about .30c per jar to make (with free feijoas).
  • I’ve run out of jam.

I tweaked a NZ Womens Weekly recipe for this, using less sugar, and scooping out the feijoa flesh instead of peeling and chopping the fruit. Didn’t bother warming the sugar either. Much easier with my method, and more time for coffee.

Chuck about 1kg of scooped-out feijoa into a big pot. Add about half a cup of water, and zest and juice of one lemon. Simmer for 15 minutes until soft. Mash up if required. Stir in about 3 cups sugar. Simmer for 20 mins or so. Put in jars.

Lazy Bread and feijoa jam for brekky tomorrow. Yum.

Image

2 Responses to “Feijoa Jam In-a-Doddle”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feijoa Jam In-a-Doddle | sustainability wench - May 3, 2013

    […] Feijoa Jam In-a-Doddle. […]

  2. Facebook Fruit | sustainability wench - May 10, 2013

    […] had arranged via Facebook, to swap Granny Smiths from a friend for a jar of my Feijoa Jam. I’ll stew and bottle them to stock my cupboards with winter […]

Leave a Reply

