Vanilla Sugar Gorgeousness

30 Apr

A couple of months ago, a good friend gave me some right proper vanilla pods to use in my baking. Such a luxury.

I can’t bear to throw out the used pods when I can still see teeny vanilla seed flecks in them. So while the  batch of choc chippies were baking tonight, I made vanilla sugar by chopping the used vanilla pods in half, putting them in little jars, then covering them with sugar. It took about 30 seconds. I’ll give the little jars a shake or two over the next few days to get the vanilla flavour through the sugar.

Organic sugar looks beautiful, but I use what I have the budget for at the time. I use it in my coffee, and on top of pancakes. It’s also a great little pressie, especially if you put a little homemade design effort into the packaging.

Vanilla Sugar

Leave a Reply

