Aloe Aloe Aloe

29 Apr

Sunday nights call for a bit of pampering. But not the type that takes up valuable Glass-of-Wine-Time. I’m not into putting store-bought concoctions on my face and hair when they are full of chemicals and flavours, but nor can I be bothered mixing my own mask every time out of foodstuffs. I like my avocados mashed on corn chips, and my eggs poached with hollandaise.

Last night I stripped out the gel from two Aloe Vera leaves and squished it up. This took 5 minutes. It looked like the remains of a violent sneeze. There’s no escaping that. I grabbed gobs of it as best I could and smoothed it on the ends of my hair, then pinned my hair up for about ten minutes to let the gel do its thing.

While my hair was fermenting, I smeared the Aloe Vera gel on my face. It felt really lovely. I washed it off after about 5 minutes and put my homemade almond and rosehip oil on. De-lish.

It took longer to rinse the gel out of my hair than it would with a regular conditioner, and I wasn’t sure if it made my hair feel better until this morning. I definitely felt a difference. Softer and less crispy on the ends.

I’ll do this again, but will need to create more Aloe Vera plants by separating my existing two.

Aloe Gel  Aloe Face  Aloe Hair

4 Responses to “Aloe Aloe Aloe”

  1. Aloe May 3, 2013 at 1:33 am #

    My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different page and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page again.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Good Plants that Cost Zilch | sustainability wench - May 2, 2013

    […] need more Aloe Vera plants for my face and hair masks over the winter. Instead of spending money on them though, it’s a piece of cake to divide […]

  2. Sustainability Wenchy-Updates | sustainability wench - May 9, 2013

    […] Aloe Aloe Aloe […]

  3. Doing the Sustainability in the Chaos | sustainability wench - July 26, 2013

    […] Aloe vera masks with a drop of lavender oil helped my stressed skin. […]

Leave a Reply

