Autumn Fig Jam

24 Apr

It’s Fig Time in the Southern Hemisphere. Which historically has meant nothing to me, but today my sis brought round a couple of kg of ripe figs from her house. So I made jam.

  • Put a couple of kg of chopped figs (don’t need to peel) in a big saucepan with .5kg-1kg sugar, roughly chopped rind of one lemon, juice of one lemon and a cinnamon stick. If you are lucky enough to have some, scrape the seeds out of a vanilla pod and put the seeds and empty pod in too.
  • Simmer it all up for about 3 hours.
  • Remove the cinnamon stick, lemon rind and vanilla pod. Mash up any big figgy lumps.
  • Put in sterilised jars.  This made about 5 x 375g jars.

I’ve tested it, and it tastes quite good. A bit marmalade-y which is not always my thing, but I may try it this weekend with cheese, crackers and wine to take the sweet edge off it. Maybe next time I’ll use a bit less sugar to make it a purely savoury accompaniment.

*News just in* – after a bit of product testing, I think blue cheese is the right partner in crime for this jammy goodness.

*May Update* – see this blog entry for my final taste test! It’s not great to be honest.

Fig Jam

One Response to “Autumn Fig Jam”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spiced Quince Gin and Fig Jam . . . Test Day | sustainability wench - May 16, 2013

    […] thought I would serve it with my homemade fig jam and blue cheese on crackers. I hadn’t tried that one properly either. I also had some […]

Leave a Reply

