Crazy Chemical-Free Shampoo

19 Apr

Last week I mentioned that I’d started trying baking soda as a shampoo replacement. This is one of the weirdest things I’d heard of recently, but in the name of sustainability, I thought I should give it a go. There are probably many ways of applying baking soda that are documented on the internet, but if it involves mixing, it’s cutting into Coffee-Time. My technique was:

  • Wet hair.
  • Shake baking powder onto hand.
  • Quickly chuck it onto hair and massage.
  • Repeat for longer hair.

It’s a very odd feeling rubbing a powder onto your hair, and it doesn’t create that artificial silkiness that chemicals can provide.  As soon as I used it however, I could feel all the cheap icky supermarket shampoo build-up washing out. My hair was soft and bouncy. After a few days, the ends starting drying out quite a bit (I’ve got medium-length hair), so I’ve been experimenting with the occasional spritz of apple cider vinegar (then rinsing) on the ends. I’ve also been careful about the parts of my scalp I apply the baking soda to, trying to concentrate on just the oilier bits.

I definitely recommend trying it, perhaps for a few days when you have no important events happening.  Also make sure you clean the baking soda out of your ears.  My sister has very short hair and is now a baking soda convert. I’ll keep trying it for another few weeks, but if the ends still crisp up, I’ll stick to using it once a week to clear the supermarket shampoo out.

Baking soda

3 Responses to “Crazy Chemical-Free Shampoo”

  1. The Housewife Life♥ April 19, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    Love your blog! Take a look around mine, maybe something will spark your interest and you’ll follow me! Hope to hear from you soon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sustainability Wenchy-Updates | sustainability wench - May 9, 2013

    […] Crazy Chemical Free Shampoo […]

  2. Loo-Cleaning Magic | sustainability wench - May 14, 2013

    […] a bit of the ol’ baking soda (the very stuff I wash my hair with) into the toilet. Have a coffee, or wine, then give it a bit of a scrub around with a toilet brush […]

Leave a Reply

