A Day of Hippiness

11 Apr

Last weekend I snaffled a bag of plumpy squishy rosehips from a friend’s garden. I thought about rosehip jelly, but the price of fancy rosehip oil and the discovery of a slow-cooker recipe, compelled me to make my own almond rosehip oil for my face. By doing this, I hoped to:

  • Save loads of dosh by making my own.
  • Know what exactly goes into what goes on my face.
  • Look supermodel-ish.
  • Feel all warm and fuzzy about making something from what would have been chucked out.

The recipe involved chopping the ends off a cup of rosehips, stewing them in a crockpot with a cup of almond oil for about four hours, then straining and decanting into dark bottles. Disturbingly, it smelled a bit like roast lamb. But it looked beautiful once strained. I’ll be testing it in the morning, maybe with some roast potatoes and mint sauce.

In other news, I washed my hair with baking soda this morning. The weirdest thing, it actually worked, and stripped all the supermarket shampoo build-up. Check out Lyn here http://pigtitsandparsleysauce.co.nz/. She is my new hero, and is a guru of baking soda tips.

Image

2 Responses to “A Day of Hippiness”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Aloe Aloe Aloe | sustainability wench - April 29, 2013

    […] Aloe Vera gel on my face. It felt really lovely. I washed it off after about 5 minutes and put my homemade almond and rosehip oil on. […]

  2. Sustainability Wenchy-Updates | sustainability wench - May 9, 2013

    […] A Day of Hippiness […]

Leave a Reply

